You are not logged in.

#1 2024-03-29 07:49:02

Ariya

Growing your own fruit, vegetables and herbs for food and medicine.

As we are now past the spring equinox in the northern hemisphere I thought I would start a thread if anyone wants to share their experience or helpful tips here.  Or maybe i can inspire some of you to start doing the same…

I live in a city but I have a piece of ground around - maybe 20 x 25 m (called an allotment in the UK) where I have been growing plants for food and medicine since 2019. Prior to this,  I would grow food and herbs in containers on window sills.

Everything is grown without chemicals (no pesticides, herbicides,) To do this effectively, you need to have an effective balance of pest and predator. I also use physical barriers to stop birds eating all of the the fruit. I compensate by giving the birds their own section of fruit and berry bushes to eat from. We now live in very good cooperation. The insects and birds are my friends.

IMG-0266.jpg

It can be a lot of work to grow food, but it is worth it to ensure you (and family) are at least getting some very nutritious food (& with less toxins that what you might buy from the supermarket.) You can grow food at its own natural pace (rather than over accelerated growth due to fertiliser) and it often is more tasty.
IMG-0822.jpg
Just some of the food I grew last year were:
Tomatoes
Potatoes
Apples, Pear, Cherries,Plums, Fig (trees)
Salads - lettuce, rocket, spinach
Strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, black currants,
Courgettes, squashes, pumpkins
Watermelons (in polytunnel.)
And lots more.
IMG-0971.jpg

Most of these things are quite easy and require little skill… nature often takes care of itself.

Many of the fruits and veg are long lasting depending on how you preserve them.

If you live in difficult climates, I find polytunnels very helpful to extend the growing season and protect against the weather.